Eine Formel auf Wasserbasis, Abfallvermeidung und unendlich oft wiederverwertbare Dosen (ja, wirklich!) sind nur der Anfang. Wir informieren Sie hier auf unserer Nachhaltigkeitsseite über alle Maßnahmen, die wir – und vielleicht auch Sie – ergreifen, um unseren wundervollen Planeten und all seine Bewohner zu schützen und schädliche Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt zu reduzieren


Unsere Farben

Was ist das Geheimnis unserer berühmten Farben? Zuerst einmal eine VOC-arme Wasserbasis und verantwortungsvoll gewonnene Inhaltsstoffe.

Mehr lesen

Unsere Farben

Was ist das Geheimnis unserer berühmten Farben? Zuerst einmal eine VOC-arme Wasserbasis und verantwortungsvoll gewonnene Inhaltsstoffe.

Mehr lesen

Unsere Tapeten

Von der Fabrik bis zum Tapeziertisch: Das macht unsere handgefertigten Tapeten zu einer wohlüberlegten Wahl.

Mehr lesen

Unsere Tapeten

Von der Fabrik bis zum Tapeziertisch: Das macht unsere handgefertigten Tapeten zu einer wohlüberlegten Wahl.

Mehr lesen


Maximaler Effekt – mit minimalen negativen Auswirkungen


Wir unterstützen Sie auf unterschiedliche Weise dabei, die Auswirkungen Ihres Farrow & Ball Projekts auf die Umwelt so gering wie möglich zu halten: Wir bieten Ihnen eine maßgeschneiderten Bestellberatung, Tipps zur Aufbewahrung angebrochener Dosen und kreative Ideen, wie Sie auch den letzten Tropfen Farbe und die letzte Rolle Tapete restlos verwerten können.  

Am besten nutzen Sie vor der Bestellung unsere Hilfsmittel zur Berechnung von Farbmengen und  Tapetenmengen. Sie helfen Ihnen dabei, exakt die Menge zu kaufen, die Sie benötigen.
  
Der Farrow & Ball Tapetenkleister ist so konzipiert, dass bei Ihrem Projekt möglichst wenig Abfall anfällt. Da wir den Kleister in Pulverform verkaufen, ist er zum einen länger haltbar und Sie können zum anderen nur so viel anmischen, wie Sie benötigen. Die hochkonzentrierte Formel macht es möglich, dass Sie mit einer einzigen recycelbaren Papierdose bis zu fünf Rollen tapezieren können. 

Wenn Sie für die Bestellung der richtigen Mengen von Farbe oder Tapete etwas mehr Beratung benötigen, dann stehen Ihnen unsere Teams gerne zur Verfügung. Besuchen Sie einen Farrow & Ball Showroom in Ihrer Nähe, nehmen Sie telefonisch, per E-Mail oder per Live-Chat mit unserem Kundendienstteam Kontakt auf oder stellen Sie Ihre Fragen auf Social Media.

Sie haben noch Reste übrig? In unserem Blog The Chromologist finden Sie zahlreiche Ideen, wie Sie diese sinnvoll einsetzen und gleichzeitig Ihr Zuhause kreativ umgestalten können. (Für den Anfang empfehlen wir diese schnell umsetzbaren Wochenend-Projekte). Falls Sie für Ihre Reste selbst keine Verwendung mehr haben, dann verschenken Sie diese doch an Freunde oder Verwandte.  

Wenn Sie Ihr Umgestaltungsprojekt abgeschlossen haben, dann bewahren Sie die Farbreste am besten für eventuelle Nachbesserungen auf. Den Idealzustand bewahren Ihre Farbreste, indem Sie darauf achten, dass der Deckel sicher und fest verschlossen ist. Wir empfehlen außerdem, den Behälter einige Sekunden lang auf den Kopf zu stellen, bevor Sie ihn in aufrechter Position lagern. Damit verhindern Sie, dass sich eine Haut auf der Farbe bildet. Bewahren Sie die Farben an einem kühlen, trockenen und gut belüfteten Ort auf, geschützt vor Temperaturschwankungen und Frost, damit sie lange haltbar sind und nicht doch aussortiert werden müssen. 

Wenn Sie Ihre Reste nicht aufbrauchen oder verschenken können, dann könnten Sie bei Ihrem örtlichen Recyclingzentrum nachfragen, ob es in der Nähe eine Farben-Spendenstelle gibt.

Umweltschutz im Unternehmen

Unser Engagement für die Umwelt betrifft nicht nur die Produkte, die wir herstellen, sondern zieht sich durch alle Bereiche unseres Unternehmens. Hier führen wir einige unserer Umwelt-Aktivitäten auf, die wir in unserer täglichen Arbeit bereits umsetzen:

- Wir betreiben unsere Produktionsstätte mit Strom, der von Wind- und Solarparks in Großbritannien erzeugt wird.

- Wir recyceln 100 % der Trockenabfälle aus unserer Fabrik in Dorset.

- Wir recyceln 97 % unserer flüssigen Abfälle, auch in unserer eigenen Wasseraufbereitungsanlage vor Ort.

- Wir arbeiten mit FSC®-zertifizierten Druckereien zusammen, die für unsere gedruckten Werbemittel FSC®-zertifiziertes Papier verwenden – für Farbkarten und Broschüren genauso wie für Postkarten und Briefe.

- Wir erfüllen das Energy Saving Opportunity Scheme (ESOS) an allen unseren britischen Standorten und werden regelmäßig von der Umweltbehörde überprüft, welche die Einhaltung der Standards kontrolliert.

Umweltschutz im Unternehmen

Unser Engagement für die Umwelt betrifft nicht nur die Produkte, die wir herstellen, sondern zieht sich durch alle Bereiche unseres Unternehmens. Hier führen wir einige unserer Umwelt-Aktivitäten auf, die wir in unserer täglichen Arbeit bereits umsetzen:

- Wir betreiben unsere Produktionsstätte mit Strom, der von Wind- und Solarparks in Großbritannien erzeugt wird.

- Wir recyceln 100 % der Trockenabfälle aus unserer Fabrik in Dorset.

- Wir recyceln 97 % unserer flüssigen Abfälle, auch in unserer eigenen Wasseraufbereitungsanlage vor Ort.

- Wir arbeiten mit FSC®-zertifizierten Druckereien zusammen, die für unsere gedruckten Werbemittel FSC®-zertifiziertes Papier verwenden – für Farbkarten und Broschüren genauso wie für Postkarten und Briefe.

- Wir erfüllen das Energy Saving Opportunity Scheme (ESOS) an allen unseren britischen Standorten und werden regelmäßig von der Umweltbehörde überprüft, welche die Einhaltung der Standards kontrolliert.

 



Auszeichnungen und Zertifikate


Bei den Coatings Care Awards der britischen Vereinigung der Farbenhersteller wurden wir 2015 als Best Improver, 2016 als Overall Winner und 2017, 2018 und 2021 als Finalist ausgezeichnet. Diese Auszeichnungen werden anhand einer Reihe von wichtigen Leistungsindikatoren wie Energieverbrauch, Abfall und Recycling sowie VOC-Emissionen vergeben.

Unsere Verpflichtung zu einer umweltfreundliche Arbeitsweise wird auch durch die ISO Zertifizierung ISO 14001:2015 für Umweltmanagementsysteme (Zertifikatsnummer 25345/F/0001/UK/En) bestätigt. Diese bestätigt eine kontinuierlich verbesserte Leistung, die dauerhafte Einhaltung der Vorschriften und das Erreichen der aktuellen Umweltziele. Wir sind stolz darauf, seit 2005 jedes Jahr zertifiziert worden zu sein, und nutzen die jährliche Zertifizierung als eine Maßnahme, um unsere Bemühungen in diesem Bereich stetig zu verbessern.

Water based formulas, waste reduction and infinitely recyclable tins (yes, really) are just the start. This is the online home of all our sustainability information, where you can find out what we’re doing – and what we’ve already done – to reduce our impact on the environment through our products, processes, and practices.


Our Paint

What’s behind our famously rich paint colours? It all starts with a low-VOC water base and responsibly sourced ingredients.

Read More

Our Paint

What’s behind our famously rich paint colours? It all starts with a low-VOC water base and responsibly sourced ingredients.

Read More

Our Wallpaper

From the factory to the pasting table, here’s what makes our handcrafted wallpaper a considered choice.

Read More

Our Wallpaper

From the factory to the pasting table, here’s what makes our handcrafted wallpaper a considered choice.

Read More


Minimising the Impact of Your Project

Here’s how we can help you minimise the impact of your Farrow & Ball decorating project on the environment: with tailored ordering advice, tips for keeping opened tins in top condition, and creative ideas for using every last drop of paint and roll of wallpaper in your stash.  

Before you order, check out our guides to calculating paint quantities and wallpaper quantities to help you buy exactly the amount you need.

Farrow & Ball wallpaper paste is formulated to minimise the waste from your project. Being sold in powder form means a longer shelf life and the ability to only mix what you need, while the concentrated formula means you can hang up to five rolls with a single recyclable tube.
 

If you’d like to get some more tailored advice on ordering the right amount of paint for your project, our teams are on hand to help. Visit your local Farrow & Ball showroom, get in touch with our Customer Services team by phone, email or live chat, or get your questions to us on social media.  

Found yourself with leftovers? Check out our blog, The Chromologist, for tons of ideas on how to put them to good use, while adding a little creative flair to your home in the process (we recommend  these quick weekend projects for starters). Or, if you’re unable to find a use for leftovers in your own home, why not offer them to friends or family? 

After your project has finished, you can keep leftover paint in top condition ready for any touch-ups by ensuring the lid is on securely and tightly. We also recommend turning the container upside down for a few seconds to stop a skin forming on the paint before storing in an upright position. Keep them in a cool, dry, well-ventilated area, away from fluctuating temperatures and frost, to keep them at their best and avoid waste. 

If you can’t use your leftovers up or donate them, your local household waste recycling centre may have a paint donation point. Alternatively, some places in the UK operate paint re-use schemes – check online to see if this runs in your area.  

OUR TINS 

Including recycled materials in the manufacture of our iconic paint tins already saves product from landfill, but we’re going one better – by using metal packaging, we’re ensuring that our tins can be infinitely recycled 

Due to the processes involved in manufacture, it’s not possible to accurately state exact quantity of recycled metal used to create our tins. However, metal recycling is so well established that 84% of steel packaging is recycled across Europe and 77% in the UK, making it the most recycled type of packaging available 

It’s estimated that 80% of all metal ever produced is still in use and the average recycled content in metal packaging across Europe is 58%.   

By promoting the recyclability of our tins – which proudly show the Metal Recycles Forever™ logo – we hope to get more customers recycling and get even more metal back in the recycling loop. 

Most recycling centres in the UK accept unwanted paint cans. However, it’s very important to check with your local council and household waste recycling centre for local requirements and availability.


OUR BOXES
 

The cardboard packaging your tins arrive in, and all the other cardboard packaging we use, is recyclable* and made with 75% recycled material. Cardboard is widely recycled in household collection schemes and at recycling points throughout the UK – visit recyclenow.com for more information or contact your local household waste recycling centre.  

OUR BAGS 

The bags we use in-store are fully recyclable – that includes the handle as well as the bag itself. Cardboard is widely recycled in household collection schemes and at recycling points throughout the UK – visit recyclenow.com for more information or contact your local household waste recycling centre.  

OUR WALLPAPER  

As our wallpaper doesn’t contain any vinyl, you may be able to recycle it in your area. Check with your local household waste recycling centre for their policy on accepting wallpaper for recycling.  


Our Business

Our dedication to the environment doesn’t begin and end with the products we make – it’s also in the way we do business. Here are the steps we’ve taken so far to reduce the environmental impact of our day-to-day operations:

- Running our manufacturing site on electricity generated by wind and solar farms around Britain.

- Recycling 100% of the dry waste from our Dorset factory.

- Recycling 97% of our liquid waste, including at our own on-site water treatment facility.

- Working with FSC® certified printers, who use FSC® certified paper, to produce our printed pieces, from colour cards and brochures to postcards and letters.

- Complying with the Energy Saving Opportunity Scheme (ESOS) across all our UK sites and being audited by the Environmental Agency to ensure our compliance.


Our Business

Our dedication to the environment doesn’t begin and end with the products we make – it’s also in the way we do business. Here are the steps we’ve taken so far to reduce the environmental impact of our day-to-day operations:

- Running our manufacturing site on electricity generated by wind and solar farms around Britain.

- Recycling 100% of the dry waste from our Dorset factory.

- Recycling 97% of our liquid waste, including at our own on-site water treatment facility.

- Working with FSC® certified printers, who use FSC® certified paper, to produce our printed pieces, from colour cards and brochures to postcards and letters.

- Complying with the Energy Saving Opportunity Scheme (ESOS) across all our UK sites and being audited by the Environmental Agency to ensure our compliance.

 



Recognition


In the British Coatings Federation’s Coatings Care awards, we were named Best Improver in 2015, Overall Winner in 2016, and finalists in 2017, 2018 and 2021. These awards are judged on a range of key performance indicators including energy consumption, waste and recycling, and VOC emissions.

Our commitment to environmentally responsible practices has also been recognised by Certification ISO 14001:2015 Environmental Management Systems Standard (Certificate number 25345/F/0001/UK/En), which recognises our enhanced performance, continued compliance, and achievement of ongoing environmental objectives. We’re proud to have been certified every year since 2005, and annual certification is one of our continuous improvement policies.