Fragen rund um die Farbgestaltung, Teil 4

Geschrieben am 18th Februar 2021

Heute beantwortet Farrow & Ball Farbexperte Patrick O'Donnell einige der Fragen, die uns häufig gestellt werden – darunter, wie man das Beste aus einem nach Norden ausgerichteten Raum macht, wie man weiße Küchenfronten elegant einbindet und was besonders gut zu Backsteinwänden passt.

Falls Sie auf Ihre Frage hier keine Antwort finden, dann schauen Sie doch einfach in Teil 1Teil 2 oder Teil 3 unserer Reihe „Fragen rund um die Farbgestaltung“ nach.

Welche Farben eignen sich für ein Wohnzimmer, das nach Norden geht? 

Es bereitet nicht wenigen Menschen Kopfzerbrechen, für einen eher dunklen Raum die richtige Farbe zu finden. Sofern Sie ein paar grundlegende Gestaltungsprinzipien beachten, haben Sie allerdings sogar mehr Auswahl als gedacht! Auch wenn das fehlende Licht oft eine Herausforderung ist, lassen wir uns davon nicht einschränken!

Selbstverständlich spielen für die Auswahl der Farbe noch ein paar andere Elemente wie der Boden, die Vorhänge oder das Sofa ein Rolle. Warme Farben (also solche, die Rot oder Gelb enthalten) oder dunkle Töne (für die Mutigen unter uns) funktionieren mit dem nüchternen Licht des Nordens immer gut. 

HELL & WARM

Wände: India Yellow No.66 in Estate Emulsion
Holzelemente: White Tie No.2002 in Estate Eggshell
Decke: Wimborne White No.239 in Estate Emulsion

DUNKEL & GEMÜTLICH

Wände: Sulking Room Pink No.295 in Estate Emulsion
Holzelemente: Studio Green No.93 in Estate Eggshell
Decke: Off-White No.3 in Estate Emulsion

TIEF & UMHÜLLEND

Wände: Inchyra Blue No.289 in Estate Emulsion
Holzelemente: Salon Drab No.290 in Estate Eggshell
Decke: Drop Cloth No.283 in Estate Emulsion

Wie gestalte ich eine dunkle Gästetoilette?

An diesem nicht so frequentierten Ort schlummern ungeahnte Chancen, die Sie nutzen sollten! Da Sie mit einer hellen Farbe ohnehin kein „Licht in den Raum zaubern“ können, kämpfen Sie am besten nicht gegen den Charakter des Raums an. Und weil hier zudem niemand stundenlang verweilt, können Sie sich in der Gästetoilette getrost mutig und kreativ ausleben! Vielleicht finden Sie eine tolle Tapete, die diesem Raum das besondere Extra verleiht? Selbst bei einer weißen Toilette und einem weißen Waschtisch kreieren Sie mit den meisten Farben einen glamourösen Look. Hier ein paar Ideen:

Bancha painted cloakroom
Railings Bathroom

Wände: Stone Blue No.86 in Modern Emulsion
Holzelemente: Bancha No.298 in Estate Eggshell
Decke: James White No.2010 in Estate Emulsion

Wände: Cook’s Blue No.237 in Modern Emulsion
Holzelemente: Railings No.31 in Estate Eggshell
Decke: Cabbage White No.269 in Estate Emulsion

Wie kann ich in eine Küche mit weißen Fronten etwas mehr Lebendigkeit bringen?

Eine weiße Küche wirkt oft clean und sieht toll aus. Wenn Sie dennoch Lust auf etwas Neues haben, verändern Sie den Look relativ einfach, indem Sie den Wände mit einer Dosis Farbe neuen Pep verleihen. Mit einem nuancierten Weiß als Hintergrund ist die Wirkung eher dezent. Setzen Sie hingegen einen intensiveren Farbton ein, dann hebt sich die Kücheneinheit deutlich ab. Hier ein paar Beispiele von delikat bis ohh là là!

Wände: Shaded White No.201 in Modern Emulsion
Holzelemente: School House White No.291 in Modern Eggshell
Decke: All White No.2005 in Estate Emulsion

Wände: Brassica No.271 in Modern Emulsion
Holzelemente: All White No.2005 in Modern Eggshell
Decke: Great White No.2006 in Estate Emulsion

Wände: Stiffkey Blue No.281 in Modern Emulsion
Holzelemente: Stiffkey Blue No.281 in Modern Eggshell
Decke: Strong White No.2001 in Estate Emulsion

Was sind Farrow & Ball Archivfarben? 

Archivfarben sind Farbtöne aus unserer 75-jährigen Geschichte, die nicht mehr Teil unserer aktuellen Farbkollektion sind. Sie befinden sich nicht auf unserer Farbkarte, sind aber immer noch bestellbar. Wenn Sie also einen Long-Time-Favourite haben, der schon etwas älter und nicht mehr auf unserer Farbkarte ist, dann finden sie ihn in unserem Archiv.

Es ist auch für Farrow & Ball Neulinge spannend und lohnenswert, sich einmal in unserer Archivkollektion umzuschauen. Denn hier eröffnen sich ganz neue Möglichkeiten der Farbgestaltung … und finden sich Farben, von denen Sie vielleicht gar nicht gedacht hätten, dass wir sie im Sortiment haben. Sie finden sie alle auf unserer Seite Archivfarben.

 

EIN PAAR MEINER LIEBSTEN ARCHIVFARBEN

In Verbindung stehende Artikel

A One-Room Transformation with Benedict Foley

Mehr

A Bold Transformation With Colour Consultancy

Mehr

Die Story hinter The Nordic Edit. Gespräch mit Jannik Martensen-Larsen

Mehr

So lebt die Interior Design Bloggerin Ruthie Matthews mit unserer robusten Wandfarbe Modern Emulsion

Mehr

Your Colourful Questions Answered: Part Four

Written on 18th February 2021

Today, Farrow & Ball colour expert Patrick O’Donnell is answering some more of your most frequently asked questions, including how to make the most of a north-facing room, how to create interest around white kitchen cabinets, and how to complement exposed brick.

If you have a question and can’t see it here, try Part OnePart Two and Part Three of our Colourful Questions Answered series.

Which colours should I choose for a north-facing living room?

While it can often feel like a headache getting the colour right in poorly lit rooms, fear not – follow a few guiding principles and you will find you have more choice than first anticipated. Yes, light can be a challenge, but it should never be restricting!

Of course, your choice will be influenced by other elements too, such as the flooring you have in the room, or the curtain and sofa fabric. But warm colours – those that have elements of yellow or red through them – or dark colours (for those of braver hearts) can both work a treat.

Warm & Bright

Walls: India Yellow No.66 in Estate Emulsion
Woodwork: White Tie No.2002 in Estate Eggshell
Ceiling: Wimborne White No.239 in Estate Emulsion

Deep & Cosy

Walls: Sulking Room Pink No.295 in Estate Emulsion
Woodwork: Studio Green No.93 in Estate Eggshell
Ceiling: Off-White No.3 in Estate Emulsion

Dark & Cocooning

Walls: Inchyra Blue No.289 in Estate Emulsion
Woodwork: Salon Drab No.290 in Estate Eggshell
Ceiling: Drop Cloth No.283 in Estate Emulsion

How do I choose a colour for a cloakroom with no natural light? 

This is a great opportunity to just go for it. You will never be able to create ‘light’, so don’t fight it! It’s not a room one will spend any length of time in, so use this as an excuse to express the bolder you. You could also consider wallpaper to add a little glamour. Assuming we are working with a white loo and sink, you can pretty much have fun with most colours. Here are a few suggestions:

Bancha painted cloakroom
Railings Bathroom

Walls: Stone Blue No.86 in Modern Emulsion
Woodwork: Bancha No.298 in Estate Eggshell
Ceiling: James White No.2010

Walls: Cook’s Blue No.237 in Modern Emulsion
Woodwork: Railings No.31 in Estate Eggshell
Ceiling: Cabbage White No.269 in Estate Emulsion

How do I bring a kitchen with plain white cabinets to life?

A plain white kitchen can look absolutely lovely but, for an easy makeover, you can change the feel with a lick of paint on your walls, whether keeping it simple with a more nuanced white as your backdrop or really letting the cupboards stand out against a brighter foil with a zingy hit of colour. Below are a few suggestions, from the well-mannered to the ooh la la.

Walls: Shaded White No.201 in Modern Emulsion
Woodwork: School House White No.291 in Modern Eggshell
Ceiling: All White No.2005 in Estate Emulsion

Walls: Brassica No.271 in Modern Emulsion
Woodwork: All White No.2005 in Modern Eggshell
Ceiling: Great White No.2006 in Estate Emulsion

Walls: Stiffkey Blue No.281 in Modern Emulsion
Woodwork: Stiffkey Blue No.291 in Modern Eggshell
Ceiling: Strong White No.2001 in Estate Emulsion

What are Farrow & Ball Archive colours? 

Archive colours are paint shades from across our 75-year history that no longer feature in our core collection of 132 colours. Everything in the Archive is still available to buy, so if there’s a colour you have historically loved that is no longer in our main collection, that’s where you can find it.

It’s thrilling to dip into the Archive if you’re new to Farrow & Ball, too, as it opens up so many possibilities for colours that you might not have known we have. You can find them all on our Archive Colours page.

 

SOME OF MY FAVOURITE ARCHIVE COLOURS

Related Articles

A Colour Consultancy Transformation with Used Kitchen Exchange

Read the article

In Conversation with Artist and Muralist Adriana Jaros

Read the article

A One-Room Transformation with Benedict Foley

Read the article

A Bold Transformation With Colour Consultancy

Read the article