L’Histoire Derrière la Couleur : Dutch Orange

Écrit le 8th avril 2021

Murs : Dutch Orange No.W76 et Snow White No.W1 en Estate Emulsion

L’ESSENTIEL

Nom et numéro : Dutch Orange No.W76

Palette : Colour by Nature

Primer & Undercoat : White & Light Tones

Blanc complémentaire : Orange Coloured White

Disponible en : Estate Emulsion, Modern Emulsion, Estate Eggshell, Modern Eggshell, Full Gloss, Exterior Eggshell

À PROPOS DE DUTCH ORANGE

Comme les autres couleurs de la palette Colour by Nature, Dutch Orange fait partie d'une histoire qui a commencé il y a plus de deux siècles. C’est une des 16 teintes créées en partenariat avec le Natural History Museum de Londres, qui tient son nom et sa couleur directement de Werner’s Nomenclature of Colours, une classification révolutionnaire des couleurs de la nature publiée pour la première fois en 1814, et qui a notamment accompagné Charles Darwin dans son voyage à bord du HMS Beagle.

Couleur du Roitelet à couronne dorée, des fleurs de souci et de la poudre rougeâtre d’orpiment ; Dutch Orange que l’on retrouve un peu partout dans le monde naturel, et une nuance unique de cette palette, avec sa vitalité inégalable.

 

COMMENT UTILISER DUTCH ORANGE

« Dutch Orange apporte rien de moins qu’une explosion de gaité », explique Patrick O’Donnell. « C’est une teinte riche et chaleureuse qui oscille entre le jaune le plus profond et l’abricot bien mûr, qui n’est certainement pas pour les natures timorées. »


Pour tirer le maximum de profit des tonalités riches et chaudes de Dutch Orange, Patrick recommande de choisir une combinaison qui laisse la couleur s’exprimer. « Utilisez-la sur les murs d’un salon orienté au sud et baigné de lumière pour vraiment en apprécier toute sa puissance. Ou utilisez-la avec parcimonie comme teinte accent: Dutch Orange Estate Eggshell sur les placards de votre chambre associée à Orange Coloured White sur les murs et les plafonds, pour un effet spectaculaire. »

DÉCOUVREZ COMMENT FONT LES AUTRES

Une des meilleures façons de trouver l’inspiration est de prendre exemple auprès des nombreux autres amoureux de la décoration. Allez voir comment nos abonnés des réseaux sociaux ont utilisé Dutch Orange pour ajouter une touche de soleil à leurs murs, boiseries et même devantures de magasins !

Découvrez les vraies couleurs de la nature

Bleu encre, vert vif, cerise lumineuse... les couleurs de la nature ne se limitent pas aux tonalités terreuses, vous savez. Découvrez la collection Colour by Nature entière, et vous serez peut-être surpris de ce que vous y trouverez.

En savoir plus

Articles Liés

3 Façons D’apporter De La Chaleur Aux Intérieurs

Lire la suite

3 Ways With: Grey Paint

Lire la suite

Visite Guidée : Vincent The House

Lire la suite

Six Façons D’utiliser Le Papier Peint Farrow & Ball

Lire la suite

Behind the Colour: Dutch Orange

Written on 8th April 2021
THE ESSENTIALS

Name and number: Dutch Orange No.W76

Palette: Colour by Nature

Primer & Undercoat: White & Light Tones

Complementary White: Orange Coloured White

Available in: Estate Emulsion, Modern Emulsion, Estate Eggshell, Modern Eggshell, Full Gloss, Exterior Eggshell

ABOUT DUTCH ORANGE

Like its Colour by Nature palette-mates, Dutch Orange is part of a story over two centuries in the making.

One of 16 shades created in partnership with London’s Natural History Museum, it takes its name and hue directly from Werner’s Nomenclature of Colours, a ground-breaking classification of colour in nature that was first published in 1814 and which later accompanied Charles Darwin aboard HMS Beagle.

Found in the golden crested wren (today called the goldcrest), marigolds, and the powdered form of the mineral red orpiment, Dutch Orange is well represented in the natural world but truly one of a kind when it comes to our palette, with an enlivening feel that’s second to none.


HOW TO USE DUTCH ORANGE

Dutch Orange delivers nothing short of glowing joy,” says Patrick O’Donnell. “It’s a rich, warming shade that hovers between the deepest yellow and lush ripe apricot, and it certainly isn’t for the faint-hearted.”


To get the most of Dutch Orange’s rich, warm tones, Patrick recommends choosing a scheme that really lets the colour speak for itself. “Use it on walls in a south-facing sitting room drenched in light, which will really let you appreciate its full warmth. Or use it sparingly as an accent shade – Dutch Orange Estate Eggshell on your bedroom wardrobes, teamed with Orange Coloured White on walls and ceilings, would look spectacular.”

SEE HOW IT’S DONE

One of the best ways to find colour inspiration is through your fellow décor lovers. See how our social media followers have used Dutch Orange to bring a hit of sunshine to walls, woodwork, and even shop fronts!

Explore the true colours of nature

Inky blue, vivid green, bright cerise – there’s more to the colours of nature than earth tones, you know. Explore the full Colour by Nature collection, and you might be surprised what you find there.

Read More

Related Articles

Six Ways with Farrow & Ball Wallpaper

Read the article

Behind the Scenes of The California Collection

Read the article

6 Projects to Do This Weekend

Read the article

Falling in Love With Yellow (Again)

Read the article